The official title of the UK is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland .

The UK is made up of:

  • Great Britain (the formerly separate realms of England and Scotland, and the principality of Wales)
  • Northern Ireland
  • Numerous smaller islands including the Isle of Wight, Anglesey, and the Scilly, Orkney, Shetland, and Hebridean archipelagos.

Read the resources on this page to develop your understanding of the United Kingdom. When learning about the United Kingdom you need to think about the contrasting regions from the Grampian Mountains of Scotland to the lowland fens of England which are at or below sea level in places.

Scotland and Wales are the most mountainous parts of the UK. A ridge of hills, the Pennines, runs down the centre of northern England. Many coastal areas are low-lying, especially in the east and south of England. These include the wetlands of the Somerset levels, that regularly flood during heavy rain. Most of the UK is made up of gently rolling hills with isolated areas of high ground such as Dartmoor in the south-west of England or the Mourne Mountains in Northern Ireland.

Follow these hyperlinks to learn more:-

  1. BBC Country Profile – The UK
  2. The Commonwealth – United Kingdom
  3. Encyclopedia Britannica

Geography Home Page

Icons - Copy


Click here for KS2 Curriculum Dashboard (All Subjects)