All living things can be put into groups based on features they have in common. (for more info about animal see Y4 Classification page)

The main groups are:




Within these large groups are many smaller groups that help scientists to identify new speices using classification keys.​​​​​​​

For plants there are two main groups:

Flowering plants

Non-flowering plants

For more information about each, have a look through the Powerpoint below:

Watch the video below to see some different groups of plants introduce themselves and explain what characteristics they have…

Follow these hyperlinks to learn more:-

  1. Life Cycle of a Dandelion
  2. Life Cycle of an Ant
  3. Life Cycle of an Animal

Science Year 6 Home Page

Icons - Copy


Click here for KS2 Curriculum Dashboard (All Subjects)