The Solar System

The solar system consists of:

  • A central star called the Sun giving off heat and light​​​​​​​
  • Eight planets moving round it in circles called orbits

The force of gravity keeps the planets in orbit.

Other objects in the solar system include asteroids, comets and dwarf planets.

The picture and video below will help you remember the order of the planets.

Use the PowerPoint below and find out even more information about the planets.

Follow these hyperlinks to learn more:-

  1. BBC Bitesize
  2. Planet Information
  3. More Detailed Planet Information

Science Year 5 Home Page

Icons - Copy


Click here for KS2 Curriculum Dashboard (All Subjects)